Example Site Message: Click to Edit/Replace Text

Wilton Land Conservation Trust's Hall of Heroes

The Wilton Land Conservation Trust is a private, non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation of open space in Wilton. Formed in 1964 by Wilton residents Morris Earle, Augustus W. Merlin, Lawrason Riggs III, and George W.D. Symonds, these founders anticipated the adverse impact of population increase and housing development on the natural resources and wildlife habitats in the Town.

Over the years, the WLCT has been lucky to have many passionate and generous members and volunteers working to advance its mission. The WLCT Hall of Heroes honors those that have had an extraordinary impact on the WLCT and an exceptional hand in advancing its mission.

Robert H. Russell, Jr. — WLCT Trustees Emeritus

Bob was a great friend and longtime supporter of the Wilton Land Conservation Trust. From the very beginning, Bob was an advocator for open space, a contributing member of WLCT’s Board since it was founded in the 1960s, and was appointed WLCT Trustee Emeritus. He established the partnership between the Town of Wilton and the WLCT. Bob made preserving open space a high priority in Wilton, significantly advancing the mission of the Wilton Land Conservation Trust.

Robert Russell Wilton Historian

Robert Russel WLCT Trustee Emeritus,

standing with David McCarthy, WLCT's Executive Director, outside of WLCT's Offutt Barn at Chestnut Meadows.